4x4 & MPV Driver - 40% subscription discount

Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UKô
Isuzu Trooper, Rodeo, Bighorn, Mu & VehiCROSS Owners Club
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Watched TopicsWatched Topics   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your personal messagesLog in to check your personal messages   Log inLog in 
CalendarCalendar  ITOCUK Club ShopClub Shop  ITOCUK Classified Ads serviceClassified Ads
ITOCUK HomeITOCUK Home   dynamic online chat serviceChatrooms  Yellow Diamond ClubsYellow Diamond Clubs

Odometer Puzzle


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UKô Forum Index -> Electrics / wiring / lights etc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Clive
****


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 318
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2024 17:56    Post subject: Odometer Puzzle Reply with quote

Hi

Can anyone help, I talking about an Isuzu Trooper 3.0L not that I think that makes any difference.

The problem Iím having is when pressing the reset button to zero the odometer it doesnít want to reset, well not without pressing the button umpteen times.
Also, when I have managed to eventually zero both trip I and trip 2, if I then go for a drive both trip 1 and trip 2 are recording the mileage instead of whichever one its set to record on.

Another peculiar thing is as said, they are both recording and the recorded mileage is different on each of them instead of one of them remaining on zero.

Does anyone have any ideas on what going on and how I can fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Google
Sponsor





PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2024 17:56    Post subject: Google Ads keep this community free to join!


Back to top
C.B.
***


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 144
Location: Central Scotland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2024 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could be wrong but I think that's probably just a dirty connection point on the switch, it's probably an action that most folk's don't use a lot so will build up some oxidisation on the contact points.  Other than pulling the dash and getting in there to clean or squirt some contact cleaner there's not a lot could fix that, perhaps making repeated use of the button for a week or so might help but depends on the materials used to make the contacts.

On them both recording, that's because you reset both to zero at the same time, they will both increment from that point. If you reset trip 2 to zero now it will start all over, but trip 1 will continue from where it had reached before you reset trip2 back to zero.

Smile
_________________
'00 3.5i V6 SWB Trooper (18 MPG Embarassed Sad )
'02 SAAB 95T Aero (F.A.F. †Cool )
'19 1.5D Nissan Van (Mr. NV †alien )
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Clive
****


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 318
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2024 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi C.B

Thanks for your reply, I havenít attempted to do anything about the issue yet as the car is kept outside and its too darn cold at the moment, plus if the weather goes really bad Iíd need the car on the road.

As you said its very much looking like a dash out job.
I could be wrong but Iím almost sure I was able to zero both trip 1 and trip 2 and whichever one was on display, was the one which did the recording.
In other words, if trip 1 was on display showing the recorded mileage and then I switched it to trip 2 that would still be showing zero, although I canít remember for sure.

Having said that I have managed to set both trips to zero go for a drive and one shows a different mileage to the other, if both are recording and running from zero shouldnít they both show the same distance covered, just my layman terms of thinking Question
I think I may do a further check and see how they compare with accumulative mileage recorder.

If one of the trips has stopped working it wonít be the end of the world as Iíve never owned a car with 3 mileage recorders, just the accumulative and a trip.
At the end of the day, it would be nice to zero one of them without having to keep jabbing at the button.

Clearly there is an issue with the button or whatever it presses against.
If its anything more than that Iíll be lost as Iím not really into electronics.
Back to top
View user's profile Send personal message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UKô Forum Index -> Electrics / wiring / lights etc All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


All contents © Hobson's Choice IT Solutions Ltd 1997 on
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group