QuoteSeek - free to use insurance comparison site

Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™
Isuzu Trooper, Rodeo, Bighorn, Mu & VehiCROSS Owners Club

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Watched TopicsWatched Topics   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your personal messagesLog in to check your personal messages   Log inLog in 
CalendarCalendar  ITOCUK Club ShopClub Shop  ITOCUK Classified Ads serviceClassified Ads
ITOCUK HomeITOCUK Home   dynamic online chat serviceChatrooms  Yellow Diamond ClubsYellow Diamond Clubs

egr help

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™ Forum Index -> Engines
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jimjeeves

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:35    Post subject: egr help Reply with quote

Hi all

probably heard this a thousand times- I get black smoke on start up and under load/heavy acceleration while driving. I've had some experience with diesels and I'm sure I can smell that unburnt diesel smell.

This suugests sludgy injectors to me so I've chucked in some of that injector cleaner(not sure which brand is best- the one that causes lung damage if you swallow it seems to work best... Wynns?)

There seems to be some improvement - the engine doesn't seem to lack power in any case and the turbo doesn't seem too noisy so I'm concluding I have a sticky EGR valve or two.

I've seen the posts about this here and it looks like a fairly simple bit of spannering to blank them off. My question is this: is there a downside to doing this? We're off to the coldest part of Spain - Teruel (-15c last winter)
where I reckon I might need all the help I can get starting in the cold..

Question jimjeeves
Google
Sponsor

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:35    Post subject: Google Ads keep this community free to join!

Philp

PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:03    Post subject: Reply with quote