Adrian Flux : 0800 916 1257

Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™
Isuzu Trooper, Rodeo, Bighorn, Mu & VehiCROSS Owners Club

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Watched TopicsWatched Topics   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your personal messagesLog in to check your personal messages   Log inLog in 
CalendarCalendar  ITOCUK Club ShopClub Shop  ITOCUK Classified Ads serviceClassified Ads
ITOCUK HomeITOCUK Home   dynamic online chat serviceChatrooms  Yellow Diamond ClubsYellow Diamond Clubs

Curious Coolant Loss

Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™ Forum Index -> Cooling system
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Agpab

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:40    Post subject: Curious Coolant Loss Reply with quote

Hi, I am a mechanic here in Tasmania, and so must swallow a degree of pride in posting here on what should be an easy diagnosis.

I have a Jackaroo (Trooper) with 4JX1 motor that is losing about 1 litre of coolant in 150km. It's not overheating and runs just fine. I picked up the vehicle as a non runner after the previous owner had spent several thousand and pulled the pin to cut losses.

I have talked with the previous owner's mechanic and it has had this issue for some time. He has had the head pressure tested and overhauled, new head gasket and bolts. The radiator has been recored, various hoses have been replaced, as have the injector and sleeve o-rings.

The radiator holds 15psi over night and when at operating temperature it held 15psi while I watched it over 20 mins, neither increasing in pressure nor decreasing. There is no oil or diesel in the coolant nor and coolant in the oil.

There are some small regular marble sized bubbles appearing maybe one every 30 secs when I watch with a sealed funnel but when a condom is placed over the radiator neck with the overflow clamped at operating temperature it does not inflate over a half hour of running.