All Wheel Drive Club

Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™
Isuzu Trooper, Rodeo, Bighorn, Mu & VehiCROSS Owners Club

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Watched TopicsWatched Topics   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your personal messagesLog in to check your personal messages   Log inLog in 
CalendarCalendar  ITOCUK Club ShopClub Shop  ITOCUK Classified Ads serviceClassified Ads
ITOCUK HomeITOCUK Home   dynamic online chat serviceChatrooms  Yellow Diamond ClubsYellow Diamond Clubs

Brenda the Bighorn

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™ Forum Index -> Readers Drives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rhanagar
Lifetime member
Lifetime member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 22:12    Post subject: Brenda the Bighorn Reply with quote

Not a MK.I .. and not necessarily mine, but I am a named driver on the insurance. Also I thought I would move to the modern age.

G/F's Ford Explorer .. errrm .. well died. Beast of a truck with an LPG converted 4.0 V6. Sounded great on full chat untill it developed what we reckon is piston blow-by. Its now drinking more oil through the breather than its drinking petrol. Thats a lot of oil!! We also drained about 1/4 litre of oil from the air filter box that had soaked through the now black air filter

Anyways we decided it wasn't worth fixing as its an engine out jobby, then new rings, pistons, liners, headgasket set etc etc. Coupled with the other issues it has its just not worth the money.

She wanted either LPG petrol, or diesel. Definatly had to be a 4x4 for her job. Also another must was an autobox. eebuygum had nothing interesting, apart from one petrol truck which looked pefect, but the owner had fiddled with the LPG system and thus had as much power as an asthmatic weasel instead of the book figure of 215BHP. We walked away. Then this little gem turned up on Gumtree.