4x4 & MPV Driver - 40% subscription discount

Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™
Isuzu Trooper, Rodeo, Bighorn, Mu & VehiCROSS Owners Club

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   Watched TopicsWatched Topics   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your personal messagesLog in to check your personal messages   Log inLog in 
CalendarCalendar  ITOCUK Club ShopClub Shop  ITOCUK Classified Ads serviceClassified Ads
ITOCUK HomeITOCUK Home   dynamic online chat serviceChatrooms  Yellow Diamond ClubsYellow Diamond Clubs

Volt meter fluctuation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Isuzu Trooper Owners Club UK™ Forum Index -> Electrics / wiring / lights etc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pupito

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 20:58    Post subject: Volt meter fluctuation Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm a newbie on here. Not very mechanical, but trying to keep my Bighorn on the road. So any help would be much appreciated.

The volt meter during the day is reading around 13 and as soon as i put the lights on it drops to around 9.
When its at around 9 i notice the breaks going stiff.

I have kept the battery on a maintenance charger and it has just had a new Alternator and starter motor fitted. The battery is also new but was fitted about a week before the Alt and starter motor. As i thought the issues i was having were battery related at first.

So after an expensive , Alt , battery and starter change. Its still not right.

Starter motor needed replacing and is now fine.
Battery i'm keeping on a maintenance charge.

Alternator is another thing, either the one fitted is not working well, or not fitted properly, or????????

And the breaks are still stiff, which i'm guessing has to do with the vac pump in the alternator.

I hope someone can advise me.

Many thanks
Google
Sponsor

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 20:58    Post subject: Google Ads keep this community free to join!

eurag